Welcome to UK420

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more!

This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Kipper420

Dahlia storage

So this is my first time trying to grow dahlias. The garden centre where giving them away if you spent yay much.

Grown in a container.

Now it's that time of year to store them but I'm weary.

I cut all 3 down and removed from the compost from around the rhizomes and for now they are resting in the empty pot in the greenhouse.

im hoping they just dry out like that.

Any experienced growers care to share what you do with yours.

I'd appreciate some advice. 

Cheers

Really depends how cold your garden id. I once bought a shitload of Dahlias and dug them out and stored in a dark, protected from frost place. Planted the again the next year as stipulated, with tubers that have eyes etc, removed the dangling ones. Did one come back?.... Did it fuck. Got one year out the fuckers. Were spectacular but fuck knows what I did wrong. Good luck with them.

1 person likes this

I'd leave them in the dry compost. As a child I remember wrapping them individually with paper but for the last couple of years left them in the pots, under a table. Won't go mouldy if their dry. Me gran called them "Dalys". 

2 people like this

I used to wrap them in newspaper and store in a dry place. I'd lose about 25% but then I could split the larger tubers and get the same number of plants for next year.

1 person likes this

53 minutes ago, bearukc said:

I'd lose about 25% but then I could split the larger tubers and get the same number of plants for next year.