• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 tdogg01

tdogg01

Just Sprouted

• PipPip
  • 74 posts

Posted 01 May 2011 - 06:41 PM

hi all, i am planning to change my current grow from a normal soil grow, to a SOG setup

on this basis i was wondering if, for these flowering clones, a 300w cfl would yeild better than a 250w cfl(based on the wattage) however i know hps is better for flowering...

any help and advice would be much appreciated, i am semi new to this and not that knowledgeable on the lighting side...

thanks growers!

#2 callum1889

callum1889

Vegging Nicely

• PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 01 May 2011 - 07:02 PM

i take it you meant better than the 250 hps, not cfl.

i can imagine it would do, but i'm not a pro and you would have to look into something about the light spectrums or something like that :)

#3 tdogg01

tdogg01

Just Sprouted

• PipPip
  • 74 posts

Posted 01 May 2011 - 07:09 PM

yes my bad

as corrected abouve i would like to know if a 300w cfl would yeild better than a 250w HPS

cheers bro

#4 ~nobody~

~nobody~

Searching...

• Team UK420
  • 8424 posts

Posted 01 May 2011 - 07:15 PM

I very much doubt it.

If the doors of perception were cleansed, everything would appear to man as it is: infinite

It's a sad and beautiful world

Nobody's Home - Perpetual grow

Smile - my first soil grow

Do you really need a Carbon Filter?

Ugorg Blues test grow

#5 B-high

B-high

Full Flower

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1956 posts

Posted 01 May 2011 - 07:18 PM

I very much doubt it.

Totally agree CFL's just don't give off the same power as HPS
I don't believe in ghosts and I don't believe aliens abduct people.

#6 Doomah

Doomah

Just Sprouted

• PipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 01 May 2011 - 07:42 PM

You can get respectable yields from CFLs. From my experience I know 200W of CFLs can easily produce 1-3oz dry. You should be able to out-do that considerably with an HPS and good growing conditions though.