Welcome to UK420

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more!

This message will be removed once you have signed in.

astroranger

100% New to Growing and Resident Noob - LED or HPS? HPS heat concerns me.

19 posts in this topic

Hello

I've been a long time smoker, but have never cultivated my own Cannabis and it's getting to a point where purchasing is just no longer financially viable. I've got several autoimmune disorders and need to focus spending my cash on private healthcare as the NHS is unable to meet my needs. I've been considering growing for a long time, but as explained in the title of my post I am a complete noob when it comes to growing Cannabis and so I have a few irrational (or rational idk) fears in relation to growing. Everyone is telling me to use HPS, but all my friends are over in the U.S and in legal states and I am worried about using HPS (I was considering 600-1000w) due to it's heat signature and those propaganda videos the police put out in relation to thermal imaging. I was therefore considering using LED, but they seem very expensive in relation to HPS but the upside is they produce very little heat and use little energy in comparison to HPS. I was told about two LED brands which can apparently be purchased cheaply via Amazon and those are ViparSpectra and Mars Hydro, but I am hoping to hear from more experienced growers who perhaps have either used these products themselves or know someone who has (grow diary etc) - I have been told the gold standard is COB, but I have very little DIY skills and with my health issues I can barely hold a joint for four minutes let alone mess around with DIY electronics. W