Welcome to UK420

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more!

This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
sterling-archer

Loch trout fishing

19 posts in this topic

Me and the Mrs are off to a Loch soon for some dly fishing ( i taught her to cast and got her a little 6fter)  lol. Im no fly expert as ive dipped in and out of it but last time we were at this place we caught two things... Jack to and shit lol

So what tips can you more experi anglers offer to to help us catch some clever little trout.

Cheers Sterl

1 person likes this

Not my department mate, I'm no fly angler. I doubt I could offer you any advice you don't know already.

I wish you luck though! :yep:

Take a few Mepps spinners I would, if you can't catch on the fly you might pick something up on a Mepps....

3 people like this

Im patiently waiting for Loch Leven to open,start of April,and myself and a couple of mates are goin for an early session.

Early on in the season the trout will likely be feeding quite deep and sinking lines will be the order of the day. One loch in particular used to fish well with leech imitations fished deep

One things for sure..........you wont catch them sittin in the house

Tight lines mucker

4 people like this

Dung flies are one of the earliest hatches so a couple of those might be useful.  Probably worth fishing a team of three with a heavy nymph on the point.

Stick to a single fly on the six footer.