LED's. Dutch Passion thoughts and experience

DutchPassionTony

First of all, Dutch Passion are NOT branching out into LED light manufacture. But we DO get a lot of questions about them from growers who want an unbiased opinion. After seeing a few amazing results during 2011 I set about trying to find out as much as I could about these.

I have spoken to people that used them, I have spoken to the people that make them. I have spoken to other people in the canna industry about them. I am not an expert, but after several months of digging around I have got a good grasp of the LED industry. Here are my thoughts.

LED’s are small solid state ‘chip-like’ electrical components that emit light. You get low power, low cost versions in torches, headlamps etc. These cheap, low power versions are not good enough for growing weed.

Performance. LED lights have suffered from years of hype. So much so that today many people no longer take LED seriously, which is a shame as LED’s have just got their act together. During 2011 I saw LED grows that were just as effective as HPS. I reckon that a system that draws around 300W of power seems to deliver the classy results on a par with a 600W HPS, or maybe even a bit better. When looking at LED’s the key number to look at is the actual power draw.

Construction. Most LED manufacturers build their systems around red and blue LED which is the natural wavelengths for chlorophyll to absorb. They often use several slightly different red LED’s that cover a range of light wavelengths. Same with blue. Often 85% or more of the LED panel is made of red and blue LED’s. The remaining 10-15% of LED’s varies from one manufacturer to another. Some use orange ones, some use white, some use green.

1W LED’s vs 3W LED’s. 3W diodes are the flagship technology of the LED world and arrived in 2011. They have better penetrating power than 1W LED’s. But 1W LED’s are still an effective technology.