Any tips for pressing buds lads?

cypo74

large.IMG_0159.jpegHi all, just picked up a heated press, first attempt today and results were ok.

used some old bud while I get a hang of things, I have 120 micron bags and tried pressing at 88c for 3 mins then a second press for 5 mins. 

out of 5gms of bud I got 0.7 g return, it’s a dark brown colour, is that because it’s old bud (been in jars for 4 months) or is my temp too high for too long?? Or wrong size press bags?

thanks for any tips or tricks lads

Edited by cypo74
  • Like 1

I'm a rosin noob and only just recently got a cheap one, after using it two different sessions I hmfound 90c for 130 seconds was a good starting place with mine, I'm sure them plenty of room for improving my methods.

Your press looks a lot better than mine, I just use parchment paper without bags, and try not to press too much at once.

Some I've made already

large.20231127_035525.jpglarge.20231127_035502.jpglarge.20231117_034210.jpglarge.20231117_033923.jpglarge.20231117_010005.jpg

I also pressed some CBD flower but didn't take any pics of that.

Have you got a dab pen or anything? Since I got my press I've been using my dab pen more than my new dry herb vape lol , and the rosin lasts ages for the amount of material used(in comparison to smoking blunts). Still love toking my dry herb vape to tho.

I hope you enjoy mate :yep:

• Like 4

Thanks mate, no I’ve not got a dab pen, just 2 different dry herb vapes, I’ll have a look at those!!! 

cheers for the info, ganna have another bash today, your Rosin is deffo lighter in colour than mine, from reading I think it’s the age of the bud I’m using.

do you just go straight in with full pressure on the press or ramp it up slowly? 

cheers mate

• Like 1

I think that's a reasonable return on your first go with dry weed

4 months isn't that old in my opinion, I've read of people increasing the humidity to 75% or so overnight if it's too dry