Is G.A Extra Traces essential?

Notorious B.U.D

I have been using Growers Ark coco nutes for a few years now but I’m thinking of maybe changing to a different brand and so I’m currently using up the last of what I have left but I have already run out of the extra traces and was just wondering if this is really that essential to use of will it be fine just using the A&B?

I obviously could order some more and I’d only need a couple of litres which although it’s cheap they’ll still want £10 to deliver it which with me being a tight arse I’m not really willing to pay so if I can save £20 that I don’t have to spend I will lol

Oh and the reason for wanting to change brands isn’t that there’s anything wrong with G.A nutes as I’ve had great results but I don’t like the humates they put in it as they always just settle out to the bottom of the tank and also I don’t really like having to faff around adding the Extra Traces either and so I just want it as clean and simple as possible.

• Like 3

I’ve used just a and b for a while now and not seen any decline in my plants health or end quality of flowers by not having the extra traces in the mix. 

• Like 2

I use 1ml-2ml/L grow/bloom and top it up with 3-4ml/L of traces, that's what they recommend, I might start just using 1ml/L of traces going forward because I don't really think it's necessary seeing as my background E.C is around 0.7 

• Like 2

I didn't use to use [canna trace mix], the plants seemed fine

now I use it & I do notice that the plants are stiffer; healthier, they are harder to bend - stronger stems? plus I remember having a lot more hollow stems without it

the trace elements are needed for growth, but I did notice good results without using it

you should be good

mystic

Edited by mysticriver
  • Like 2

5 minutes ago, grower951 said:

my background E.C is around 0.7 

I would bet that ur background EC has the trace elements present [copper; boron etc]