Complete Novice Yield Questions

Jackie Treehorn

Hi folks, 

New grower here. On my third grow and been lucky so far with healthy plants and no real issues. I have a question about yield though.

I've been growing autos under 200W LED. I chose autos for ease (although from reading this forum perhaps that's the wrong thought process) and also because I have a height problem. I'm growing in a crawl space and so can't get more than 1m height from light to floor. I understood that autos are shorter and therefore would suit me best. I also just wanted one less thing to think about so after reading up on easy-to-grow strains went for Blue Dream Auto from MSNL. I have had more success with the free Lemon Haze Autos that have the Blue Dream with tasty bud but the yield on all plants so far has been very low. 1 - 1.5oz per plant. I've had four plants in a space 1.5mx1.5x each time and they've grown up to a few inches below the light so I think the space I've given them is fine. I've started with Biobizz light mix and gone easy on the feed, building it up each grow but have not noticed any difference in yield. Biobizz grow, bloom and CalMag. I've tried a bit of Top Max and Fish Mix in the latest grow but again can't see any difference TBH.

The one thing that reading this forum has shown me is that I think I am underwatering. I read so much before starting my first grow about overwatering so I went really easy with it but now I'm thinking too easy. I've never noticed any signs from the plants that they aren't getting enough but I think I should be giving them more. To give you an idea, I've been growing in 3gallon fabric pots (3/4 full with light mix) and once established am only giving them about 500ml each, even through flowering, once every other day. The plants seem happy and are ready for another water pretty consistently 48 hours later but I know the yield could be much better. Is this too little? Should I be saturating them and then leaving them longer between feeds?