Wet vs Dry Trim

latitude54

In my first “season” growing, I’ve tried both wet & dry trimming, as well as something in between.

I’m leaning towards wet trimming with a tidy up when dry as I can do the bulk of the work whilst the plant is still in the pot & supporting it’s own weight.. However, as a complete newbie to growing, I wondered what other people’s preferences are, and why? Am I missing a trick? 

• Like 2

Normally I cut off all the big main fan leaves, then cut the plant at the base and hang whole to dry, once dry then dry trim. This method allows you to slow the drying down a lot.

large.20220301_034136.jpg

But my last grow I used a scrog net for the first time so I did the same above apart from the hanging whole bit, this time I did individual branches, then Dry trimmed after.

large.20220928_192246.jpg

large.20220928_192331.jpg

My mate grows commercially and therfore wet trims with a spin pro, while it still comes out decent you can tell it had dried out a little faster than weed grown by someone for themselves with more time to dry trim. I did suggest he try a trim bag for dry trimming but not sure he's convinced yet, It took me a long time to get him to switch to LED's lol

Edited by Military Grade
  • Like 5

dry trim for every possible reason I can think of. Chop and hang for 2 weeks minimum. 

Makes trimming far easier, quicker, far less smell and a much better quality final product. 

You won't catch me spending over 3 months growing flowers to ruin it at the end. Just don't get tempted to trim it before it is bone dry either or you won't get the benefit of a proper dry trim, and end up wrongly believing that wet trimming is best.

• Like 6

I'm at the stage where I'm drying it at 55 th 60 rh steadily at around 17 to 19 c and its very crispy on the outer stems almost snapping on the larger stems .

The meter says 68rh after a few hours in the tub this is after around a week .