Carbon filter done in 6months?

Bobcharlieeeee

So i have been using a Rhino Hobby carbon filter, 150x300mm version, and iv started to notice slight smell getting past.

I have been using this for 6 months, and i flipped it around after 3 months. this was a very cheap filter so i wasnt expecting much, but if im honest i was expecting to get another few months out of it atleast,

I have checked all connections and im 99% confident there are no leaks. its been fine upto this point.

I have removed the prefilter as that was very dirty but that hasnt helped so i take it time for a new one? 

Few questions

1. My intake is from an area that is abit dusty, does anyone here run a prefilter on there intake? if so what options do i have? or should the prefilter on the carbon filter be enough?
  2. Im planning to upgrade to a Rhino Pro 150x300mm, how long should i expect to get out of this? £106 for the Rhino pro vs £35.00 for the Hobby version. based on 6months life span for the Hobby, id need to get over 18months from the Pro to make it worth while. 

@grower951 im going to my local shop tomorrow morning mate, just wanted an idea if the Pro is worth getting rather than the Hobby  

Edited by Bobcharlieeeee

I've had a pro last 3yrs before now. 

The hobby filters are only rated at 6-9months brand-new aren't they? 

I haven't read the blurb recently but I vaguely remember summat like that.. 

Anything with the words "hobby" or "budget" in there description is probably best swerved tbh.  If the manufacturer themselves is telling you it's crap then it's fair to assume it's gonna be crap like :yep:

• Like 5

See if your shop can get you a mountain air filter I used rhino filters for ages but then they went to shit (imho) mountain air should last a fair bit longer than the rhino as well

• Like 4

Yeah I wouldn't bother with rhino filters, just for the peace of mind it's worth stumping for a carbo air or MountainAir.

:yinyang:

• Like 3