Accidental photoperiod grow!

A1Dan

Had a few plants growing in the garden / my little poly-greenhouse this summer, all fairly successful to varying degrees.  I always go for autos, as I'm a total amateur and want to keep things as simple as possible.  But had been wondering why, while the other plants bloomed in the sunshine, one of them stubbornly refused to, and just kept growing and growing into a huge bush which pretty much fills the greenhouse by itself.
Finally got round to checking back on what I'd bought, and realised that one was a freebie thrown in with my order from Grizzly Seedbank... "Double Grape Feminized"... so not an auto.  Duh!

So, here I am looking for any tips on how to try and get a decent yield out of the bugger!  It's been growing for about 18 weeks already, and as I say it's huge.  I'd already topped it a couple of times, so pretty spread out and bushy, but still had to cut back more off the top as it was pressing into the greenhouse roof, making the leaves burn in the sun... so definitely happy to get it flowering any time soon, it's got potential for a massive yield!

I guess we're not far off the equinox now anyway (which I think is when they are meant to naturally flower, right?), so maybe I just keep caring for it and let it do it's thing?  My worry there though is that the climate in Northern England may not be great for flowering in late September / October (another reason I always go for nice easy autos!).  

Might it be worth trying to "black out" the greenhouse to get it started?  If so:
Do I go straight in with 12 hours of dark?
Does it need to be really consistent / accurate (eg what happens if I miss a "night")?

Does it have to be really light-proof, or would a cover that just blocks out the bulk of the light be OK?

Obviously all other tips welcome!

• Like 2

Ok ,  its not the end of the world and you got a few options :yep: