Why has my newly harvested weed gone bad?

Lancaster8

I have been growing for 12 years now, and I think I know what I should be doing by now. I just had four very small harvests from four small autos.  I did the usual drying with them hanging upside down for a few days before trimming and putting into the usual Kilner jars.  I checked the moisture

levels in the way I always do, and one batch was actually now too dry.  I know people say various things about reversing this, like using a slice of apple etc., but I have personally found that once the weed gets over-dry it can't really be reversed. You may or may not agree with me. 

The other three harvests were different. Two were absolutely perfect and the last one was a little too wet still.  I used the digital moisture meters in the jars and kept an eye on things for a few days until they were settled down in the right band of moisture.  I then added Boveda sachets to the jars. 

I have been burping the jars too.  Last night I was looking for some weed to vape and 3 out of 4 of these jars had all gone really BAD.  It truly stunk.  I have found in the past, that if weed smells bad, when ground, it can brighten it up a bit.  Not last night.  When I tried smoking some it was RANK. 

So 3 jars are now scheduled to be used for edible extractions or similar.  Fortunately, I still have plenty of other jars in reserve, but I have never encountered newly harvested weed going bad in this way - especially when I have taken the usual care to make sure the moisture levels are ok. 

Any ideas Guys?  

Thanks

• Like 1

Just now, monkeypig said:

I'd be very surprised if "a few days" was enough to dry properly.

Hmmm....as it was when I tested after this time...one was too wet, one was too dry and 2 were in the Goldilocks zone. 

Just now, Crow River said:

Maybe a temperature issue? Bacteria?