Alien silver series header pot high ec

goldenbrown1

Hi I’m a newbie to RDWC have been a coco grower for decades but did do a few DWC bubbler very successful grows in the past. I decided to go the RDWC route for less mess and ease of use. The only problem I’m having is the header pot  (not the 260 litre camo tank) has an extremely high ec reading of 3.2! I never go more than 1.6 in the main camo tank and keep the ph around 5.8. Do I really need to do complete system drainage every few weeks to stop this? I figured this was the point of RDWC so as not to do changes. I have lowered my main tank ec level to 0.8 now. It’s a 15 pot system and would be a huge ball ache and pain to have to drain every week.  The plants have suffered especially the ones closer to the header pot. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

• Like 1

Your water butt ec should be the same as your header tank not sure why its so diffrent i growing in a iws system all i do is empty my water butt every 12 to 14 days  were you mixing nutes in water butt or header tank mate

imho its a  water change every week / 10 days 

what i think is happening in simple terms (as i am no good at explaining things technically lol)

with the plants only taking what they want from a solution of nutes the plants are taking more water up in the system and leaving parts of the nutes behind, your then topping up from the camo tank with fresh nute solution your increasing the strength overall each time as the unused part is still in the tanks mixing with the fresh .

• Like 2

your ec is way too high to begin with. 

probably going up if you have a) root issues or b) no chiller.

what brand of nutrient are you using and what all are you putting in there?

i also wouldnt be putting nutrients in your water butt

and like said earlier, you need to change it out every 7-10 days or you will run into issues like this. 

Edited by badbillybob
  • Like 4

1 minute ago, badbillybob said:

your ec is way too high to begin with.