Beginner looking for tips

Mission Sunset

Hi i am totally new to all this so go easy on me, also im not really clued up with the lingo but i notice there is a dictionary in a different part of the forum.

This is a rundown of what i have

Tent 80x80x180cm

LED lamp 600w

Coco perlite mix

4in extractor fan

3 litre pots (currently using)

12 litre pots (to transfer to)

A whole cycles worth of nutrients (Hornet)

Growing Northern Lights x 3

I have just started week two of vegitation and the plants look healthy, but im worried about a couple of things, i do not have a humidifier and my heating comes from storage heaters which can make the air dry. Im contantly have wet towels hanging up to try and improve the humidity (not in the tent). I was putting large bowls of hot water directly into the tent but it made an odd smell come out of the ventilation pipe. Is there better work arounds until i can afford the correct machine for it? Im ordering some hydgrometers next week.  And pruning,  "topping" or "lollipoping" confuses me a bit. Not quite sure what it is and when i should do it.

Any tips and tricks and do's or dont's would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

You can turn the fans down, to try and bang the heat and humidity up a little bit (you can go as high as 30/31c under LED) if you're able, or you can turn the LED down to bring the light intensity more in line with the environmental conditions.

All of this being said, don't break your back trying to get the humidity up too much if the plants are growing and looking fine. Most growers suffer the same issue I would imagine, in that initialy the humidity is a bit on the low side and its a struggle to get it up, but then as the plants root the pots and start drinking, the humidity starts to rise and then they have the issue of trying to bring it back down again.

• Like 3

Just now, GSZZ said: