Aerocloner help

Piper.180

Hi all I'm trying to clone with an aeroponic cloner. I'm using the X stream but I've swapped the water pump for a air pump and air stones to keep the temps a bit lower. Temps were 68f - 70f up until 2 days, they have slowly raised to 73f over the last couple of days because we've had warm weather. I'm just using tap water with some silver bullet roots to keep the water clean and my pH swings a small amount so it been between 5.8 to 6.1, once it reaches 6.1 I add a couple of drops of pH down to get it back to 5.8.

Over the last couple of days the clones have developed white root bumps on the 45° cuts, clones above the foam discs look healthy. 

Do I just keep doing what I'm doing now? If so what sort of time frame until these white bumps turn into roots? 

Any help would be appreciated as I'm a complete noob at this. 

• Like 2

I would keep with the spray bar tbh and just use a little icepack to get the temperature to sit back down.

With increased temperature the propensity for the water to hold DO drastically reduces....hence my advice to keep the aero prop on....non stop if bare stem cloning !!

If the clone is still stood up after a few days it's 'taken'......The little nodal white lumps will sprout lovely white roots any day now....A joy to behold....Enjoy :yep:

(the fastest I took a bare clone to root in the aero prop is 14 days.....Clonex , plain water @ 25c, >RH80%, 6500k T5)

Edited by zen-ken
  • Like 1

@zen-ken thanks for the reply mate.

Yeah I've heard of the ice pack technique but I'm not about enough to monitor the temp. I was planning on using the air pump in the warmer months and swap to the water pump in the colder months. Last time i used the water pump/sprayer the temps were 78-80f and the stems turned brown and mushy. 

Would the DO apply to a bubbler? I assumed the air pump would keep the oxygen content up.