night time ventilation

dustin boles

Hi Dustin

The extraction from my grow room is done by 2 fans. I have the weaker 1 come on intermittently through the night just to keep the humidity down a little and thus reduce the chance of bud rot, or mould in the buds.

I never used to do this and i have only had 2 cases of bud rot in all the time ive been growing. The first time was because my girlfriend decided she would spray the plants a week before harvest. What could i say, her heart was in the right place, but she didnt know what she was doing. The second time was because i left the plant in a dark unventillated room for too long before i cut it down.

Again, as with many things comcerned with growing, its up to you. there's no definite way, just different people ways of doing things. However, i think having the fans coming on intermittently through the dark period is a safe option.

Hope that helps

Chip

Hi Dust

For what it's worth (i am a newbie), I have my fan come on 4 times during the night, just for a few minutes each time and this seems to keep the humidity down quite nicely.

Unless you are concerned with noise at night - i would try it and see if you notice any difference!

Good luck, all the best

Dr A

Smokin' :oldtoker:

Of course, you can go down the flash bastards route, and use a Seiobo environent controller, which allows you to set the difference between day and night temperatures.

You just plug in your fans, heaters, air con units and co2 cylinders into it, program in the room size and the temp you want, and away you go - nice regulated environment, altho having to rewire all my plugs was a pain in the arse.

Bit on the pricey side (£300), and there were probs with the earlier ones (which are now sorted), but very nice bits of kit all the same