Lighting

spliffy21

Hi im very new to this growing game but ive made a small grow room about 5ft x 3 ft and im wondering if you can use a halogen bulb 500w im sorry if I sound dumb but like I said im very new to this :oldtoker:

Ive just been on the site uk seed supplies and the seeds are only 10 per pack how come they are that price while some of the sites are advertising them for 40 - 60. Ive seen a light 400w for 95 is this a good price. I have just got hold of an ultraviolet light as well are they good for anything?

Ummm,

Just to pass on what I've learned....

Halogen lights are one of the devils spawn of lighting for cannabis. They will grow under it. But your plants will be crap. Halogen lights dont have the correct colour spectrum to promote proper growth, either during vegative growth or during flowering. I think I've read that it also encourages large internode spacing, but I'm still not quite sure what this means yet.... :)

I cant answer your question regarding seeds, but for lighting goto www.fastlight.co.uk and get one of their IP20 Low Bay lights. Including delivery and VAT, it should cost you just a couple of clicks under £80 for a 400watt job.

If you get that lamp, or a lamp like that, there is a guide written by OldPink on overgrow.com that instructs you as to moving the internal powerpack to another location. This helps with temperature and reduces the hanging weight of the light. The link is Here.

Hope that helps a little. But the best advice I can give is to read and search these fourms, and the same with overgrow.com and their growfaq.

Now, I'll stand back and let the professionals reply... :)

Take it EZ,

Tre

I just replied to a thread of yours octacon and I used the phrase "tight internode spacing"... so I'd probably better explain.