Bonsai Mums In Small Spaces, How Do You Do It?

MindSoup

Hello Chums :hippy:

I've been keeping bonsai mother's for about a year or 2 now and it's proven quite the commitment with plenty of challenges and frustration along the way. So I'm hoping for some input on how to make things a bit easier and less laborious. If your a successful Bonsai Mother keeper then I'd be very appreciative if you could summarise your methodology. Feed strength, environmental parameters, lighting etc etc etc. 

I regularly spend time away from home, which can make correct hand watering a real challenge, so ideas about automation would also be really useful to hear. I wonder if anyone uses Blumats or dripper lines? 

Those of you that know me will be aware that I'm an organic grower, but if it will make life easier I'm open to the idea of delving into salt based feeds etc. 

TIA 

• Like 4

Im just starting out with self irrigating planters for bonsai mums, the smallest examples made by Elho (once ive got one properly rooted out ill have more to say on the matter) but so far the plants seem happy enough, just feeding chilli focus at 3ml a litre.

Getting a week or so betwixt top ups right now.

Also I've been using houseplant focus potting soil for mums for a while now and I really rate it , seems to have a bit more longevity than standard mtp or grow shop compost and the gals love it :skin_up:

:yinyang:

• Like 2

I just keep mine in 5 inch pots of mpc in a small prop tent. They get minimal lighting, 125w led at about 25% and get fed 1ml per litre fish mix but not every watering. I give them a bit more fed and light a couple of weeks before taking cuttings. 

It's definitely not the sort of setup to be left too long so will keep an eye to see how others do it.

I did toy with the idea of setting up a no till pot for them but think keeping them in pots gives you a bit more control over their growth rate.

• Like 2