My First RDWC System

Welsh Ian

My First Recirculating Deep Water Culture Hydroponic Build.

Hi all, my name is Ian from North Wales. Firstly, thank you for letting me join your group, I have been lurking in the wings for a few months reading everything I could. By profession I am a plastic welder fabricator building mostly bespoke Koi Pond filtration equipment. I recently got asked by a gentleman could I build a recirculating deep water culture hydroponic system. I said if he could do me a fag packet sketch with dimensions, I would have a go. The guy never got back to me but it was to late I had already started reading up on the subject and I was hooked. Countless hours of research later and after watching untold YouTube videos I decided I was going to build one for myself and to test the bespoke Hydroponic market. I settled on a small 4 pot system where the dimensions between each cube and the sump could easily be altered to suit individual customers needs.

I would be very gratefull for constructive feedback or comments.

The Cubes

300 mm L x 300 mm W x 300 mm H

Internal water level 200 mm deep

300 x 300 x 200 = 18 litres PER CUBE

The Reservoir

400 mm L x 400 mm W x 500 mm H

Internal water level 240 mm deep (cube plus plinth)

38 litres

Pipework

Add 20 litres for volume of water contained within the pipe work

4 cubes @ 18 litres each = 72 litres

1 reservoir @ 38 litres

Pipework 20 litres

Total = 130 litres

Edited by Welsh Ian
  • Like 1

Hey and welcome ... :toot:

your build sounds cool .... please post pics of the build, love to see it ... :)

@Welsh Ian

I have moved this to the hydro section as the new member section is for introductions only no growing questions in there please. 

Feel free to make a new post in the new members section to introduce yourself. 

:yinyang:

Hi, thank you very much. I have tried adding photographs to the post but am unable to do it. I uploaded the pictures to an album. Could you possibly insert then into my post.