Help needed Coco Grow

Falcore

Hey there,

im new to the growing scene, i currently have 3 Barneys Farm Runtz autos growing ( I will start a diary when i figure out how to uploads pics etc. ) when I bought my coco from the shop they were on about a ph of 5.8, im currently using General Hydroponic nutrients ( FloraMicro , FloraGro , FloraBloom )

do i have to be precise with my ph to 5.8 if so i need to buy a good ph tester.

sorry i have mad anxiety and even typing this was hard for me so apologies i hope you understand me lol 

Thanks in advance

Alan 

• Like 2
Just now, Falcore said:

do i have to be precise with my ph to 5.8 if so i need to buy a good ph tester.

Not in coco, you can have a bit of elbow room. As long as it comes out between 5.8 - 6.4 you will be alright. Don't spend mad money on a pH pen cos they're like car tyres, even the best ones wear out, grab a cheapo essentialls one it'll cost between £40 - £50 and then in future if you're well into it you can get something a bit more expensive with a replacable pH probe.

Have a look at Growers Ark coco feed, as long as you match the feed with your water type (hard/soft) you'll need not worry about pH again.

• Like 2

Thank you so much for getting back to me so quick!

Don't ask me why I chosen coco for my grow, I just thought its what you use after watching YouTube videos

As a beginner would you recommend soil growing instead? Obviously after thus one has finished 

• Like 1

Honestly I think coco is better for beginners... as long as you never leave the plants sat in their run off, you can't overwater it. If I am not draining the run off away automatically, I like to use upturned saucers in bigger trays and sit the plants on those.