Potting up fabric pots of coco after germ'ing seeds?

dingo bingo

Morning all,

I'm back to growing in coco after 5+ years away and I'm also new to using fabric pots. I've got seeds to germ' in the next few days, this will be my second grow back in coco. Final pots will be 4 x 11L fabric pots under a 600W, coco fed with drippers.

I've read that the stages of potting up (eg. 8cm > 1L > 3L > 6L etc etc) is not needed in coco nor arguably with fabric pots, what do you guys find to work best with coco and fabric pots?

Current grow (first time using coco in fabric pots) was started by germ'ing seeds in 8cm (plastic) pots, I then potted up in to 2L fabric pots before going in to the final 11L pots. I'm wondering if I could skip the 8cm pots and go straight in to a 1L or 2L pot without any issues?

1 hour ago, dingo bingo said:

if I could skip the 8cm pots and go straight in to a 1L or 2L pot without any issues?

mate I know my method/opinion on this isn't that popular, but

I go from germinated seeds/rooted clones, straight into 12L fabrics without potting up in-between

people say dont do it as you might overwater & not be able to keep the roots as warm, however I dont have those issue

yes you can skip the 8cm pot

mystic

• Like 5

I don't know about potting up in coco but it should be easier to pot up using plastic pots and leaving the fabric pots as the finals, its saves the roots from getting ripped and torn. Also placing them on wire racks helps with air flow and stops the soggy bottoms .

• Like 4

Potting up is more about increasing root mass,

more roots = more weed :D 

Atb

:yinyang:

• Like 7

I've Never grown in coco but what I gather is it likes to dry out quickly, is fabric pots really an optimal choice to contain it?

I’d personally pot up as shumroom says you get a better root growth plus your not wasting loads of nutrients at the first stages watering a area that has no roots yet. I used to go into final pots straight away till I started potting up.