Low-roofed loft - tent or convert?

sinisterminister

Hi

First off I want to say I'm a total rookie when it comes to growing, although I've wanted to for years. I plan to create a one (or ideally two but I don't think there's room) plant hydroponic setup in my loft. I've done a little bit of research and the general consensus seems to be I'll need a growing space of at least 5 feet. Unfortunately it's only 59" (one inch off 5 foot!) from the floor to the middle support beam. I've been looking at tents and the most suitable one I can find is 160cm tall, which is around 5 foot 3. Obviously if I put this tent up there there's gonna be a massive bulge hanging from the tent's ceiling from the support beam. Would this still be okay to grow or would the light end up too close to the plant? I intend to use an Oxypot which is 38cm tall, plus the height of the plant. I'm going to use an LED light but don't know if it'll still be too hot.

If the tent is a no-go, I was thinking of converting a section of the loft but again, will it actually work properly with such little space? I know there are "dwarf" plants, but... I'm a greedy bastard and I want big yields! It's all gonna be for percy but I can't stand running out, especially as these days for me it's medicine more than anything

• Like 2

You could consider buying reflective sheeting and creating your own grow-space using drawing pins and tape. It would maximise your space available. Its what I used to do for many years. My LED lamps are 9" from the canopy with no heat issues.

Also, welcome to UK420

Edited by Lux_Interior
grammar
  • Like 2

15 minutes ago, MonkeyBlazed said:

Can you get a loft tent up there, then just do a low pot and no-till . Would be easier .

I considered that but the problem is the only ones I can find online are all too tall.

13 minutes ago, Lux_Interior said: