New polytunnel grower

desertshaman

Hi all..

I'm new to outdoor growing and plan to stick a few plants in the tunnel this year. I have a large polypitch tunnel so lots of head height I think it's 3m tall. 10 ft wide by 15 feet long. I have some seeds from real gorilla seed co: early grape berry and dgf bx1. 

Reading around here it seems best to plant them out in end may or early June...

Did a few autos outside last year they were pretty shit. All got rot.

Plan to have a large fan or fans and a heater at night to reduce humidity. I have an ozone generator I can stick in there or just a cf in a 5 inch fan close to the plants? I'm close to the road but in a detached property. Tunnel has opaque sheeting so one can't see inside from outside as to what's growing and I'm not overlooked but smell will be an issue..! 

Was wondering if you all would go with pots or stick the plants in the ground?

I do plan on having flowers tomatoes and other veg around the cannabis...

Cheers all

DS

Edited by desertshaman
Sp
  • Like 4

Hey dude, polytunnels can be brilliant, but they suffer badly from high humidity. So you absolutely need either a dehumidifier, or fuck off extraction and intake fans (CF on the extraction), Ideally on some sort of smart fan speed controller. Think of it as a giant grow tent without the lights. You can help yourself a lot by not over crowding it too much as well, it's tempting to fill it up with other plants as cover, but it can cause more problems than its worth. 

As for pots or ground, as much as I love growing in open ground I'd probably go with pots, simply because you can move them somewhere if you ever need to get them out of the way. It also makes it easier to work on them.