Running groom off petrol generator

Absurdist

Good evening fellow growers.

I am on the verge of getting some builders in to remodel my house. The work is expected to take about 2 weeks (so will probably be 3 or 4 lol) and there will certainly be interruptions to my electrical supply.

I'll have 3 plants mid flower and another 3 in veg and want to minimise disruption and smell leaks.

My groom is in an outbuilding, so I hope that it will remain connected. But just in case i am thinking of lining up a petrol generator.

It's a small scale setup with a 315 CMH and a 75 watt LED. Total wattage must be under 600 W.

Anyone done similar and care to offer any advice?

I guess an uninterruptible power supply would be another option.

I'm no expert by any means, but off the top of my head, you'd have to have a inverter to convert the generated electric to useable .

Does the out building have heating?

It could get quite pricey.

I know you can buy big power banks now, you charge them in the house socket them they can be taken anywhere and even power tools.

But they cost about £1000 upwards.

People use them for campers, boats and such like.

You could use a normal petrol genny but there noisy , ive run a 1500w disc cutter off one on site years back , no inverter needed as runs 240v /110 normally:yinyang:

For the quiet generators I hear that the Honda EU series are pretty much widely regarded as the quietest. They are the ones that food wagons use and are "almost" silent. They start at 2.2kw (so 1800w true output at 230v) it has the inverter builtin...but its about £1300.

Personally - I would put a bit of tape on the fuseboard with a very visible note stating Freezer in shed DO NOT TURN OFF. Explain the situation to the builders and it's job done. Cost...about 1p for paper and pencil lead lol . 

Edit to add - a 1kw can be got for £850....it is because they are the most reliable and very quiet. You can get much cheaper but they are very noisy. 

Edited by Diddy