Extraction help…

Whambud

Hi guys,

got a loft I want to use and I’ve never used one as a space before… I was thinking to cut the black tarp like material and blow air outside through it on one side and suck air in through the other side… I can move the tiles they won’t budge. Will this do? I’ll get some pics in a few days.

also just in case your wondering I’m going to be stapling the entire loft with white plastic and covering the floor instead of using tents due to how the roof trusses are set out.

cheers any help would be much appreciated! Not use to working in lofts

• Like 1

Temp extremes are the main problem with lofts so I'd recommend insulating whatever space you need to grow.

This will help keep things more stable, draw cold air in from outside in summer, from inside the house in winter.

It will also help to soundproof from the rest of the house. Not sure where you'd extract to, someone will know the best way.

I grow in the shed and have similar temp issues to deal with and this method works for me.

Good Luck

• Like 1

Just now, stu914 said:

Temp extremes are the main problem with lofts so I'd recommend insulating whatever space you need to grow.

This will help keep things more stable, draw cold air in from outside in summer, from inside the house in winter.

Ye definitely would be useful to be able to switch intake for outake in Winter and vice versa. I'd take it into account and build it that way.

Can't help much with best isolation but there was a great thread recently about the subject if someone can link

• Like 2

1 hour ago, stu914 said:

It will also help to soundproof from the rest of the house. Not sure where you'd extract to, someone will know the best way.

I grow in the shed and have similar temp issues to deal with and this method works for me.

Good Luck

Hi mate,

probably going to insulate the walls… floors are done then stick up some white plastic then tarp the floor… basically turn the loft into a big tent.