Lightproofing shed windows subtley and cheaply?

MidgeSmith

Hi, I am in the process of insulating the shed in which my tent will be. After that I need to work out the best way to make the 3-in-a-row windows lightproof, so that when I open my tent, the overlooking neighbours won't be treated to a suspicious flood of bright light.

Ideally, the solution won't look too weird and attract questions from visitors to our garden, or the last few friends who might even want to peek inside.  Theres obfuscating materials inside, so the tent is kind of well hidden, but what to do about the windows?

I suppose my best case scenario is mould proof, pencil-pleat, blackout curtains, pinned on the tent end. With a 2.2M length and 1M drop though, I'd probably have to make them myself - which I have no experience in and would probably make a dogs dinner of - or pay a fair bit for a custom made set.

I could make a set of box shutters, but that'd be difficult, complicated or expensive.

Roller blinds would allow too much spill around the edges.

Any good ideas to help with my pauper build?

Cheers!

Midge

Edited by MidgeSmith

I wondered myself if that might be a good move, however I also might use the shed for bringing on seedlings.

Your comment inspired another idea though.  I wonder if I could simply knock up some black / painted material mounted in frames I can insert into the window frames when I want them blacked out?  From the outside it'd just look like the shed was dark inside.  I could always make up an excuse for wanting the light blocked from the inside of the shed if people wondered why the windows were blocked out. I could use tinted film or one way film on them instead of blacked out, if it blocked enough light to look like normal lighting inside the shed when the tent is open.

Thanks Shumroom :)

• Like 1