Bonsai mum topping - not sure where to cut?

I took my first set of cuttings a few weeks ago, they've rooted out and are growing nicely.  I want to train them into bonsai mum's.  Oldtimer's tutorial suggests topping them low so you only have a few growth tips left - so that would be around here right? - 

large.Inked20210507_212639111_LI1.jpg

Seems brutal!!  This is my first time topping - topping them this low is not likely to kill the plant is it?  I don't care if it stunts growth, I've got plenty of time before I need to take cuts from them anyway, I just want to know I'm not going to kill them by cutting off like 60% of the top!

Cheers.

• Like 1

I had concerns about topping that low as well for my first go, so I chickened out and did down to the first 3 nodes. I've topped one since then, back to 2 nodes and as far as I can tell the only difference has been the speed at which they bounce back.

I posted some pictures in this thread recently about my first bonsai mum:

• Like 1

Better room go one node above your mark then on the next hair cut you can remove that bit extra if you want.

Chances are relatively small with where you've indicated but if you remove too much material in one go and leave very little left sometime plants just shit it and whither away and die slowly.

You can remove more but you can't put it back. 

Also a good tip is if your going to do anything drastic to your mums, take a cut with the material incase as back up. 

Back up regularly.

Edited by blackpoolbouncer
  • Like 8

1 hour ago, blackpoolbouncer said:

Better room go one node above your mark then on the next hair cut you can remove that bit extra if you want.

Chances are relatively small with where you've indicated but if you remove too much material in one go and leave very little left sometime plants just shit it and whither away and die slowly.

You can remove more but you can't put it back.