Finding ways to improve taste & flavour while using synthetic nutes in coco

And

As per the title, I'm building a list of elements that will improve flavour & taste when using coco, feeding synthetic nutrients via drippers. Unfortunately I can't use organics as my system will get messy & blocked.

My list so far in order of importance is:

Genetics/strain used

Well grown plants with plenty of light

Canopy kept at reasonable temps so as not to evaporate terps, especially in the last few weeks

Properly dried - slow, correct temp and humidity etc.

Properly cured

Not overfed - nutrient levels kept no higher than the plant needs (about 1.5ec at the mo)

Flush/fade at the end

Beneficials

Sweeteners like molasses (I use Botanicare sweet raw as it doesn't block drippers and no added flavour)

Additives like winter's frost etc.

The only thing I wouldn't want to use are artificial flavourings like terpinator etc. I'm no expert so I'll have the importance of things mixed up and will be missing things - I'd be very grateful for any help improving the list, i.e. correcting the order of importance or adding anything else that would make a difference.

Cheers :yep:

EDIT:I'll update the list as suggested..

Edited by And
  • Like 1

13 minutes ago, FatBoy77 said:

Strain. 

Of course. how did I miss that?! Cheers, I'll edit the list in the post as things come up..

Edited by And

3 hours ago, And said:

Not overfed - nutrient levels kept no higher than the plant needs (about 1.5ec at the mo)

Unless you're in hardwater I wouldn't be going as high as that, but its not all about E.C. The NPK ratio of the base nutrient plays a huge role, and then any mineral based additives you're adding further alter the composition. Balance is key when it comes to nutrients, no stupid numbers. Drop out any calmag, PK, silicone, anything with a mineral base.

3 hours ago, And said:

Flush/fade at the end