Pests in the garden

dannychoo

Heya all.

Decided to put some plants (couple of Premier Sweet, Discobiscuit, Amnesia and a Blue Dream) in pots out middle of lockdown/Mid-May to June in the garden alongside some potato plants, lemon balm, roses, Goji etc since we weren't sure when lockdown was gonna ease/end and it seemed a good idea at the time. 

large.outdoors2020.jpg

I have to admit I've never done outdoor growing before, and also haven't come across many pests indoors other than fungus gnats and springtails in the tent, both of which are managable and never really thrived enough to cause much damage. Therefore I'm not as clued up as most and thankfully never had to really apply pesticides or counteractive measures. 

Which brings me to my question: are these spider mites? 

large.outdoors2020_mite_pest.jpg

I prefer organic buds, growing in/outdoors in soil so looking for a preventative/pesticide that would kill or deter them without affecting the taste too much. I have a bottle of neem oil in the cupboard as well as general household goods that I usually spray in the garden on vegetables, usually use a garlic, chilli and soap mixture but recently gotten lazy last couple years and just let nature take it's course.

Is neem oil and liquid soap a good general pesticide and what sort of ratio should I mix them? When should I stop using pesticides outside? What other pests should I look out for in the garden? I usually get vine weevil when growing pak choi etc so haven't grown them much lately. I noticed black flies on my beetroot and chives/spring onions recently and as mentioned above, there's the roses that usually bring the white cabbage flies as well... 

When the ladybirds were in their larval stage a month or so ago, I was actively relocating them onto my cannabis plants but they seemed to have buggared off after their metamorphosis 2-3 weeks ago. Should I try to catch more around the garden to apply them to my plants instead of pesticide spray?