Noob and polycarbonate?

vistulamiracle

Hi guys, 1st post here.

I've been reading the wealth of information for a while on here.

Ready to get involved with some autos and outside.

I was originally going to get a tough glass green house, 2 roof vents and extra 2 for the sides of the glass, with auto opens.

How ever trying to order one now is crazy with 8 weeks+ waiting times and more.

So that option is scrapped!!

My question is polycarbonate greenhouse, the double walled seem less conspicuous, will this do the job for me even though not the clear as glass version ?

They are less conspicuous, if they do the job it's a 3-5 days to get to me !

From what I've researched they seem ok ?

Any advice on this and any other pointers you have for my journey fell free to comment!

Or any other things I can buy to help 

Thank in advanced I will be making a diary and posting too !

Thanks 

I've got no experience of using one but if it's a greenhouse then that's it purpose isn't it ? Am I missing something ?

• Like 2

the poly carb ones are more likely to lose windows in a storm but they won't break so that's a plus, or you could get a cheap poly tunnel and put a decent skin on it, either way it will be fine

• Like 3

Got a polycarbonate gh last year.  The chances of the polycarbonate panes blowing out in a gale can be lessened considerably if you specify the bar capping which is a little more expensive.  Mine was fine during the ?three named storms over the winter. The double polycarbonate glazing (structure is like double skin / centrally corrugated cardboard, but waterproof, clear and stronger) provides some concealment (if that is useful to you) but any leaves up against the polycarb will be identifiable.  With plenty of auto-opening louvres and roof vents mine has not risen above 31c in the full sun all day today even with the door closed. The tomato, basil, chilli and squash plants I have in there now seem to be happy. 

Edited by Socksnsandals
  • Like 2