How to improve my Wilma system?

weeder

As the title states, how you think I could improve my Wilma system plans? I think yield is my number one priority and I'm new to hydro systems.

I have planning getting a new Wilma system, either XXL 9x18L or XXL 5x25L. Area will be ~150x150x200 and light 600W or even 1000W if suggested. I would prefer 600W myself.

So the question is: should I pick 9x18 or 5x25?

I know people have a lot of opinions but please reason yours with pros and cons! I would like to know my possible bottlenecks in both cases. I have heard that 9x18 would be faster to harvest (because of smaller size of plants) for example. I have also heard that 25 liters would be a way too much per pot but as a person who prefers few bigger plants instead of many smaller ones the decision is still hard to make.

Thanks dudes!

• Like 1

1 minute ago, Asterion said:

More light if you want bigger yields. Setup nutes etc come last. 

You think even 1000W wouldn't be enough to cover that area? I have always heard about adding light but is there any cap after it won't effect anymore on yield?

600 isn't enough mate they have a 3.5x3.5 footprint and your space is 5x5 I'd definitely use the 1000watt. Or 2 600 watts together maybe if your yet to buy.

• Like 1

I would go with 2 x 600s in that area, for better coverage than a single 1000watter.  1 x 600 wouldn't be enough, no way. 

• Like 2

For your Wilma, id cut holes in the top and let the roots go into the res , like dwc, with additional airstones and a chiller.

Have a look at heath Robinsons perpetual harvest video on yootoob.

• Like 3

• 2 months later...
On 05/01/2020 at 1:26 PM, weeder said:

As the title states, how you think I could improve my Wilma system plans? I think yield is my number one priority and I'm new to hydro systems.

I have planning getting a new Wilma system, either XXL 9x18L or XXL 5x25L. Area will be ~150x150x200 and light 600W or even 1000W if suggested. I would prefer 600W myself.