Blue Kush & Diesel - Soil

Tony K

Hello.

After a break from growing for a couple of years I’m back at it and looking forward to the next few months. The two other grows I did were a bit of a struggle - but the bud ended up in the jars - largely due to generous help I received in this forum.

I learned a lot last time and decided to make a few changes this time out.

Firstly, I’ve opted for photos. I think autos were a bit of a challenge to this complete beginner and for me autos don’t really offer any benefits other than a quick cycle.

I also decided to opt for Dinafem seeds – I don’t recall reading anything other than positivity about their seeds, so I’m using the best genetics I can to minimise the potential for problems.

I’ve also switched from Biobizz soils and nutrients. This tme I’m on Plant Magic and Old Timer. I have no particular beef with Biobizz (I’m not experienced enough to have any valid complaints) but thought I’d opt for a lighter soil just to see if that made things any easier.

Lastly, the strains – Blue Kush and Diesel. These came recommended and suit my needs – a sativa-bias with a relatively short flowering period. I’ve got a strict deadline with this grow, everything has to be done by 20 March.

Two seeds from each strain were soaked in water for 24 hours. A small pot was filled with soil, gently soaked with (room temperature) water in a fine spray until run off.

They went into a propagator on top of one of those heat-pad things, covered with a light-proof sheet and left for a few days...

Edited by Tony K
  • Like 3

After 48 hours, one Blue Kush broke the surface. That was then placed in the tent under a CFL on 24/0. Passive intakes opened and extraction on.

large.5df3ac5b6d0ef_Day05BKNLD02.JPG

large.5df3ac5d76607_Day05BKNLD07.JPGlarge.5df3ac5c7572d_Day05BKNLD04.JPGlarge.5df3ac42ddec3_Day05BKNLD03.JPG