Raspberry Pi automation

Mr blue

I have been playing around with a raspberry pi to try and control/monitor temperature and humidity in a greenhouse, but the same kit and principles could be used in a growroom

Kit I have used so far:

Raspberry pi zero w £12

large.IMG_20180426_145350720_LL.jpg

Dht11 temp and humidity sensor £3

large.IMG_20180426_145426429_LL.jpg

5v 4 channel relay board £3

large.IMG_20180426_145405468_LL.jpg

Soil moisture sensor £2

large.IMG_20180426_145437312.jpg

Cables for connecting everything

large.IMG_20180426_145335821_LL.jpg

I am no programmer, but with a bit of googling I found python scripts I could adapt to use the sensors to control gpio pins and thus the relays ( which will then operate fans or pumps) so it is now set up so that relay 1 switches when humidity is over 70%, relay 2 switches when temperature goes over 28°c , and relay 3 switches when the soil moisture sensor indicates dry. Relay 4 is spare( for a growroom it could switch the lights)

I have also installed Cayenne, which means I can control everything and see temperatures etc on my phone from anywhere.

I have had it sitting on my desk for a few days now clicking away, and it seems to be doing what it should, so now I just need to source some suitable fans and get it installed in the greenhouse.

If anyone wants any more info just ask

Has anyone else done anything similar?

• Like 19

Looked into this years ago and noticed that the Arduino was the preffered hardware. I'm pleased to see folks making progress with the RPi.

• Like 1

Hi, I've been trying to avoid going this deep down the rabbit hole as I know almost nothing about electronics.  I don't even know what a capacitor or transistor do!  I used to start sweating over something as simple as rewiring a plug but thanks to the patience and knowledge of @scraglor @Davey Jones et al I'm now having fun making multi variac fan controls and lighting contactors (and none of them have caught fire.... yet!)