That Humming noise!

LOTUS1

I could be paranoid as its my first time but im sure my neighbor can hear my ruck etc. Its all ready to go, in fact i have started germinating my 4 autos of choice, powered everything up and it all works. Problem is my setup is in the corner of the room attached to my neighbor, my ducting(5") goes through a cupboard then through the ceiling out in to the loft, with the open extraction end filtering out behind the sofit and facia boards.

1 because the extraction duct goes through a cupboard it sounds louder and also the oscillating fan(4") i have is far to noisy to use. I haven't got my control unit for the fan yet so im not even sure if its running at max or not?.

Could i get away! with having the light(400w) on! as im ready to get some beans in and get started.. If i leave the tent half open without extraction on it shouldn't get to hot in there?

If i leave the tent half open without extraction on it shouldn't get to hot in there?

You are just asking for a whole host of problems. If the heat doesn't effect the plants, the lack of fresh air will. Not to mention the fact that you will no longer be containing the smell...

There are options to reduce the noise. The extraction fans can be put into a baffle box or run at a slower speed. Or you could go and purchase a more silent model.

• Like 2

For the first 2 to 3 weeks it wont do too much harm to keep them in the open under the light as long as they're not on show...

But I would get things sorted ASAP.. I often have to contend with noises from new equipment, can be a nightmare.

GV.

• Like 1

Im going pad out and sound deaden the cupboard which should help, i built a box for the loft end of the ducting and its dead silent up there, the wall is block 4-5" i think, its an old house so the walls are not exactly thin. Acoustic ducting would help a lot @@SkyRider. Thanks guys.

I will make a few adjustments.

• Like 1