rabbits

Guest bc pete

Guest bc pete

hi there , i was thinking of planting some big budXthai along a local river. it is on private property and is very inaccessable

to humans. i was going to use an old swans nest and use a crude wick system?

but there are rabbits all over the place, they tend to stay away from the bank where it is wet. the swans nest is high and dry in amongst a bunch of reeds and rushes. i have no experience with rabbits, or other british vermin that may enjoy munching my plants ;)

has anyone had their patch raped by rabbits???

:peace:  bc pete

Steady on Petey  :D  I keep HouseRabbits and they are NOT vermin!!! My two can`t stand the smell of the leaves, but being herbivores and not unlike locusts, they may be tempted if their regular food source is scarce. They mainly stick to fresh grass :)  and roots. And not all of them like carrots either. I wouldn`t risk it personaly mate, for you or the Rabbits.

Hi Pete, Yep! they will eat your plants quicker than you can say "cwazy wabbit!"

On my first grow outside I lost all 15 plants overnight, most were just severd at the stem, chewed a bit and then left for dead  :D I even saw one bolt of into the undergrowth with a leaf in his mouth.

So from then on I have made a point of using chicken mesh cages around my plants, held in place by three wooden stakes. They don't need to be big, about 12 inch dia and 2ft high, if they are too short the Rabbit will just reach up using its front paws to lean on the cage then steatch up and take the tops off the plants! :0

Though saying all that, you might be ok on a swans nest! Sounds like Natural Hydroponics  :) Hope it works!

Good luck,

Bud Brother

Guest bc pete

i knew it they are pesky critters with long ears and are into vandalising herb :D

i have lost a lot of outdoor to deer, and had to watch out for black bear and cougars.