Mini Carbon Filter?

rocky

i was thinkin of getin that td160 fan that farmweb keeps bangin on about. i have limited space but i want to make a CHEAP carbon filter to fit to it if i do get one. does any1 kow how i can make one? the fan is 4" and i want the carbon filter to be the same diameter. i have limited knowledge on the way they work so please give me as much info as possible.

cheers

rocky

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• pd666

• Vlad (the impala)

• rocky

• Themadhippy

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

im thinking of using a couple of foot of 4" plastic pipe filled with carbon granuals and a couple of bits of cooker extracter filter at either end to keep the granuales in place.

-probably won't work! - you need a large surface area for the filter, that means a largeish flat panel, or a cylinder (effectively a panel filter in a circle!) ;)

you could go down the scrapy and see if they have any old bus or lorry engine filter. They are about the right size and round, just need to replace the foam and add some carbon.

probably something along the lines of the commercial ones - in essence, a perforated pipe of say 4" diameter, inside another perforated pipe- say 6", and about a foot/15" long - join it to the fan with ducting - fill the gap with carbon (in a material "Sock" to hold it in) - block the end of the pipes - filter! - activated carbon available from aquarium centres :stoned:

cheers matey,thinks were working on slightly diffrent ideas,im thinking of an inline unit.but youve given me an idea :headpain: sure ive seen some 6" pipe at work :stoned:

-its going to be a bugger to build an inline one - very difficult to achieve the large surface area (if its too small, even a good fan can't suck through it) :stoned:

Why not stick it after the fan?