Security - What do I need?

Cowboy

I'm a regular poster on UK420 but I have no security on my computer. What do I need to stop "the bad guys" knowing who and where I am?

I'm not technical at all, so please make replies suitable for a computer idiot?

Cheers

Cowboy.

if your downloading files such as music or films this is a good prog to get as it stops the agenceys from knowing wat your up to.

its called peerguardian.other than that i dont put much trust in firewalls.

I'm a regular poster on UK420 but I have no security on my computer. What do I need to stop "the bad guys" knowing who and where I am?

I'm not technical at all, so please make replies suitable for a computer idiot?

Honestly,

It depends how paranoid you are.

In truth there is no security which can prevent a hack attempt when somone knows what they are doing. The moment you open your browser (i assume you still want to do that.. your online and open through the same "port" which the browser uses - a port is an area which your PC talks to the other Computer or server).

You should at the very minimum use something called a firewall; this (as the name implies) throughs up a wall of fire and smoke to prevent script attacks (automated hackers) and also stops your IP address (like a phone number for your PC which is unique) being broadcast which could allow you to be tracked - in truth this is only partially effective, since you can be traced no matter how good your security is if you have the right tools (thats because of the way IP - Internet Protocol works - too technical).

As a start point use ZoneAlarm - there is a brilliant Freeware version:

http://www.zonelabs.com/store/content/home.jsp

The Upgrade to the full version "Pro" is advisable if your increasingly paranoid.