Anyone else messing around with neural nets?

mister phlegm

For no apparent reason I got the urge to fire up python and try to hack one together over Easter holidays. I had no idea the maths was quite as simple as it (mostly) is, it's all accessible with newly-met numpy and my mind is blown again. Of course that's in theory, in practice I am a genuinely horrible programmer with a lot of ML gaps to fill too.

I didn't want to retread datasets or have to give it training feedback manually so I'm going to try and train it to play a variant of connect 4 I made up and am hacking out some code to implement. The board has 42 cells, same as C4 so the input layer is an array of 42 numbers in varying shades of 0,1,2 a grid with 6 columns and 7 rows in my head but one big column in code. The output layer is an array of twelve numbers, representing the possible moves. I want two layers in between and I'm not sure how big they should be for the problem at hand yet. I'll try 20 each when the game code is done, for over a thousand adjustables (numbers we multiply by or add to the previous column) total if I get how it works.

So the input gets multiplied by and added to these adjustables in a couple of distinct stages each with a function to provide some non-linearity (otherwise the NN would just learn linear regression regardless of the number and size of the middle layers) and throws out a column of what the agent thinks of the various move options. Subtract that column from some version of reality check (won, missed win, lost avoidably, didn't lose etc.) to see how each probability fared. Work out how much the weights and biases influenced each result and adjust. Work out how much the previous weights and biases affected things and adjust those too. Then take a new input and do it all again. and again.

Can a thousand and ninety two numbers really learn to play not-connect4 well enough to beat me? If not, how many numbers will it take?

• Like 1