Where have all the GPU's gone?

Slippy One

I've been saving for a few months for a new GPU. Saw a few benchmarks and decided on either the 6800 XT or 3070 Ti.

Can't find either for love nor money. I'm guessing the bitcoin miners are at play? I couldn't even find an old RX580 on Scan or Overclockers..

Grr

• Like 3

There were reports that NVIDIA sold $170million  of the 30 series cards directly to bitcoin miners! Scalpers also managed to scoop up a lot of them and they aren't able to manufacture enough of them yet by the looks of things, going to be months before the gpu market settles back down.

• Like 2

Cant mine BTC using GPUS anymore, you need a shit tonne of ASIC miners. maybe monero or litecoin scrypt algorithm. A GPU wouldnt even compare to an ASIC miner. BTC hashrate is over 130 Exa hashes a second

Still holding onto my 1 BTC

• Like 5

7 hours ago, sweettooth said:

Cant mine BTC using GPUS anymore, you need a shit tonne of ASIC miners. maybe monero or litecoin scrypt algorithm. A GPU wouldnt even compare to an ASIC miner. BTC hashrate is over 130 Exa hashes a second

Still holding onto my 1 BTC

They are still used, not as much as ASIC but they are, especially for miners that switch between mining for various alt coins too. Was a pretty reliable article that made the claim re the sale to miners.

I have a tiny fraction of a btc left, sold them all when they went up to £50 years ago, had bought them for 1-2quid, was desperate for the cash and thought I had done really well. Needles to say its a sore topic these days as could have bought a very nice house if I'd held onto half of them.

• Like 3

3 minutes ago, btk1977 said:

I have a tiny fraction of a btc left, sold them all when they went up to £50 years ago, had bought them for 1-2quid, was desperate for the cash and thought I had done really well. Needles to say its a sore topic these days as could have bought a very nice house if I'd held onto half of them.