Making a standardised 1:1 medicinal tincture?

Jango White

Good afternoon all,

I've been reading your excellent forum for a while now and have something I'd like to run by you...

I'm wanting to make a standardised canna tincture containing a 1:1 ratio of THC to CBD for medicinal use/experimentation. 

I'm not averse to a bit of chemistry - I'm an avid hobby chemist.

I distill my own ethanol so want to use this. I can produce up to about 88% with a pot still (I don't have a thumper keg).

Got into doing 4 pot grows during lockdown (for the benefit of my mental health, growing is good for that I find) using an XL Wilma setup (top fed drip irritation) that has been modified by cutting holes out under the pots and adding four air stones (bubbleponics I guess). The plants are grown in clay pebbles inside airports as I had them handy at the time.

I'm thinking of growing at l least one or two CBD rich strains and am wondering, what is the best way to isolate CBD (and then THC) for dissolving into alcohol?

Might go with alcohol extraction (and then boiling or evaporating off the alcohol) as I imagine this is the most food safe.

But to get the tincture to be standardised, I'd need to ideally know that the extracted oil would be 90%+ pure for accurate apportioning. 

Any ideas? 

Thanks in advance,

Jango.

• Like 1

As an avid chemist you probably want to look into a fractional distillation setup if you're serious. I'm unsure of the specifics but various cannabinoids and terpenes have different evaporation points meaning with a proper setup you can target and isolate specific canabinoids as your distillate. 

It was something I looked into a long time ago but didn't end up pulling the trigger. There's some fantastic videos on youtube.

• Like 1

Personally, I would grow a weed that is 1:1 already. There are a few. There’s a cheese one around somewhere, illl find it for you. And then simply extract in the same way. You’ll have a 1:1 tincture (or close)

• Like 2