soil

vek

hi 2 all on 420 , i have just been given 75 liters of arthur bowers multi purpose compost, i have never used this before, any one out there used it? i useuly use john innes\perlite mix........................please let me know.ttfn :D

vec Arthur bowers multi purpose compost has a chemical base fertiliser like JI so its not organic! The base fertilisers used are not as strong as in JI so you will need to start liquid feeding 2 or 3 weeks after your plants go into their final pots. You shouldn't need to add any perlite as it is an open peat based compost with added sand/grit giving adequate drainage. If you want to use organic liquid feed, earth juice would be best for this compost.

This same advise goes for Levingtons and B&Q universial composts.

• 1 month later...

Hello Joolz,

I've been looking round various garden centres, nursery's , diy shops, ect and most do an organic compost. But all the ones I've seen say they are made from rotted down wood chippings and are very corse and open not a nice structure (made a little hole in the bags to have a look not impressed), the blurb on the back off the B&Q one even said that plants grown in this compost may grow slower than the conventional comps and extra feeding early on would be needed, put me off a bit. Don't know about the Homebase one might be different, but doubt it!

Suppose it would be better if you could mix with untreated chemical medium, peat, coir or add sand/grit and some clean loam, just an idea.

Think I'm going to try some of the BioBizz organic compost, and feed for flowering. Bit more pricey at £10 for 50L.

Bud Brother. :ghost:

Biobizz All-mix, worth every one if its very many pennies! So too the Bio-Bloom.

Yes its pricey, but when you weigh it up against the results, you'll reach for the phone to order another, for sure!

:ninja:

Yes its pricey, but when you weigh it up against the results, you'll reach for the phone to order another, for sure!

Have to second that AL.