Welcome to UK420

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more!

This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Danco

High EC/Media EC + controlled drybacks

16 posts in this topic

Firstly i will admit that i still have my growing L plates on as i am still a novice in the game, however once i start looking into things and taking an interest i tend to become a nerd and spend to much time researching. Granted i am trying to run before i can walk, but the subject interests me and id like to possibly test it out at some point in the future.

I have been seeing a few growers running extremely High EC levels recently ( any where from 5-8EC ). To some one like me who constantly sees "less is more" and people hitting nice results from 1-1.2 EC this seems beyond ridiculous, however the results and the science speak for themselves and i can't argue with them. 

Some of the growers using these levels are doing so under LEDs and talk about the plants transpiration being dramatically affected by the switch to LED to the point where plants require twice the E.C level just from being used on LED alone. Apparently LEDs cause the plants to transpire less than half that of tradition CMH/HID in which case twice the nutrient EC level was needed to give the plants the correct amount of nutrition in a smaller volume of water. 

Another thing to note is that the strain also plays a factor in weather or not plant can take any given EC solution as it was said some plants could take 8EC upwards, where as other would not react kindly to anything over 1.6