Welcome to UK420

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more!

This message will be removed once you have signed in.

ROCKSTEADY6

Homemade Worm Farm Advice

29 posts in this topic

Hi All. I have been interested in trying to learn more about organically feeding the plants we have on our little allotment and also my indoor plants. I wanted to try and make my own worm farm and I have already started. I have bought a large plastic tub and also a tap that I plan on fitting as low down as possible on the tub. The plan will be to harvest some worm leachate after a little while but I have very little knowledge on the subject. 

I had a couple of questions if anyone is passing by and could offer advice. In the main pinned thread there are a number of references to adding charcoal but I don't plan to put any in. Is this a mistake? Also in Winter how do people keep the worms warm as I am in the UK where zero degrees is common? 

I had planned to use coarse ballast around the tap exit point so that it doesn't get filled with sludge. Probably the bottom 6 inches. I wasn't going to have any drainage holes in the bottom of the tub. I haven't quite figured out if you need to pour extra water in there to extract the worm leachate but loads of time for that. I haven't actually fitted the tap yet so will need to squish things over to get the ballast in there. 

I already put in a bag of old compost, loads of cardboard etc, some older grass clippings and some old fruit and veg and 500g of composting worms, red rigglers i think. Any tips anyone has that I should be aware of then please let me know. 

large_Box.jpglarge.5d761adca33e8_WaterButtTap.jpg