Welcome to UK420

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more!

This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Kush123

Ec in res jumped to 4

19 posts in this topic

Hello guys I set up a dripper system to feed my plants which are in coco. Left for the weekend on Friday with the ec set to 1.4 and ph 6.2 got back tonight Sunday and the ec is at 4 :( and ph at 6. I’m using a 250l flexi tank which was filled up to 100l and canna a+b nutes. I’ve got a maxi jet 1000 at the bottom mixing the nutes and a Hailea hx4500 feeding the drippers.  Any ideas what’s gone on there? 

I am no expert on automated systems but ill try to help.... seems they must have drunk quite a lot of that 100l to bump you upto 4ec ? ph has not changed a great deal... how long did you wait after the mix was made ?  e.g talk us through your whole process

1 person likes this

A jump like that can only be one of a few things.

Either as already said your plants absorbed a lot of water and somehow the nutrients in water have been left over, although that is quite a bloody jump. It could be that you took a measurement too early before the the nutrients had mixed properly, even with a mixing pump it does take a min or two. Another possibility is that your using the wrong nutrients, soil and a fair amount of coco nutrients can cause imbalance like this if you start using them in a res instead of hand watering, but I doubt this is the case and again I doubt it would jump so high. 

Only other thing I can think of is that your EC meter needs a clean etc.

3 people like this

Sounds like a faulty meter, first thing I would check...

2 people like this