Welcome to UK420

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more!

This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Jigg

Looking for a little advice please

Posted (edited)

Hi everyone,

I am new to growing, A friend has gifted me some lights to get me started (I already had everything else) for my first grow I'm looking at some autos. The problem is I have noticed the bulbs my friend have me are 600W hps is it ok to start some autos under some low watt cfls to start then do the rest of the grow with the hps bulbs or would it be better to order a new mh bulb for the veg then swap the bulbs at flowering. My friend has always grown autos and used hps for the whole grow just wondering what people here think. 

Thanks 

Edited by Jigg

I have the same bulb and if im honest, from seed to harvest, I never changed lighting or anything, 24/7 lighting, grew 6 plants in a small 120x120 tent and got decent yeilds from all 6, all seeds from dinafem too, on my second grow now, just 4 this time. same bulb 600w, and all 4 have started and looking great.

Thanks,

I think I'll just buy a couple of seeds for my first grow and see how it goes 

3 people like this

stick the hps in  from day 1.

autos need to get going quickly to reach a decent size for a reasonable harvest

1 person likes this

5 minutes ago, badbillybob said:

stick the hps in  from day 1.

autos need to get going quickly to reach a decent size for a reasonable harvest

Thanks @badbillybob I was just worried I would need to buy a mh bulb to start before using my hps 

1 person likes this

I would advise to save your money and go HPS all the way through IMO.