Welcome to UK420

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more!

This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
budie

budget grow lights

hey all :) hope your having a good day,

I'm new to indoor growing and am about to start my first indoor micro grow in a water butt that measures .5m x.9m. I'm on a very tight budget and managed to stumble open a couple of 125w cfls for only £10 on ebay. They are classed as 'photography lights' and are only 5500k instead of 6400k/6500k so are not true daylight. Does anyone know if these are suitable for growing? or has any experience growing with 5500k lights?

budie

They'll do mate :yep:

Its a start and within budget

Good luck

Love

Arthur

Are you sure your water butt is 5m x 9m? if so,that 125watt light is wasted in a space that size.

1 person likes this

@@ursus1000 pretty sure those are decimal points prefixing the digits. It's a good size and a fair attempt at a first grow..

;)

I'm on hps now, a one fifty, but if I had to return to cfl I would seriously consider vertical bulbs hung almost beside the plants... Proximity to the bulb and head height are the biggest factors..

After no smell, no tell, no sell...

E2a

Best of luck...

Edited by crystal warrior
2 people like this

@ursus1000 I meant 0.5m by 0.9 :)

@ hanging light between the plants sounds cool might get a couple of extra small cfls to try it out :idea: ill let you know how I get on :)

also anyone one know where I can get cheap E27 to mains leads?

hey all :) hope your having a good day,