Welcome to UK420

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more!

This message will be removed once you have signed in.

PreciousGreen

Help for newbie! Major heat issues for loft grow!

Hi all;

Initially posted this on General Growing questions section of the site, but advised its sits better here (so aplogies for duplication).

So I'm brand new to this growing lark and having some issues with my first grow that I'd appreciate some help with as there seems to be so much conflicting advice out there! I'm still learning and reading as much as I can, so please be gentle!

I've established a loft grow for stealth reasons.

I've built a grow box approx 80x80x120cm high from timber, clad in ply with glass wool insulation.

This is lined with Mylar to reflect the lights.

Exhaust ventilation is via a SwiftAir 4" carbon filter attached to a TT100 inline fan.

Lighting is 8x 30w CFL bulbs which are suspended a few inches above the 4 girls in 12" pots on a 20/4 cycle.

To reduce heat issues, the 4 sleep hours are 11-3 in what should be the warmest part of the day.

I'm growing autoflower Lowryder EasyRyder (fem) strains as these were recommended for a first timer.

Initially I went with 2 x 4" passive intakes and a SwiftAir 4" inline fan (Amazon purchase) as the exhaust, but temperatures in the growbox were hitting 40C! I should point out that loft temperatures in this heatwave are hitting the mid thirties which I understand is way too high.